Board & Staff

Literacy Action of Central Arkansas Staff

Marci Bynum Robertson, Executive Director

Marci Bynum Robertson joined Literacy Action as Executive Director in November 2018 after recently working as a freelance grantwriter and museum consultant. She previously served as the Curator/Historian/Grantwriter for the Museum of Discovery and the Associate Director of Foundation Relations at the Arkansas Arts Center. Marci curated traveling, permanent, and temporary exhibits at the Museum of Discovery, and considers the “Get to the Basement” tornado exhibit her legacy after 15 years at the Museum. She also enjoyed developing and presenting educational programs such as “Wiggle Worm Tales.” An avid reader and informal education advocate, she is committed to helping provide literacy opportunities for the residents of central Arkansas.

Marci holds a B.A. in History and English from Arkansas State University and a Master’s Degree in Public History from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She lives in North Little Rock with her husband, daughter, and Thor, a rescue pup who is not nearly as large as his name suggests.

Sarah Standridge, Director of Adult Literacy Programs

Sarah grew up in Northwest Arkansas and received a B.A. degree in English from the University of Arkansas in 1995. After working in the corporate world, she began tutoring at the Ozark Literacy Council in Fayetteville and went on to work there as an administrator and an English as a second Language (ESL) teacher. Following her family’s move to Little Rock in 2003, Sarah spent years working and volunteering with young children. She received her M.A. degree in Teaching from the University of Central Arkansas, with special training in ESL, in 2013. From 2013 to 2015, Sarah worked as an instructor in the Intensive English Language Program at UALR. In her free time, Sarah loves to read, hike, do yoga, and spend time with her husband and two children.


Literacy Action of Central Arkansas Board of Directors 2019-2020

David Monteith, President

Tish DePriest, Vice President

Sherry Owen, Secretary

Bill Foster, Treasurer

Mary Waldo, Past President

Caley Hawkins

Daveante Jones

Rose Merry Kirkpatrick

Zachary Riley

April Phillips-Perry

Elisabeth Owen